Laptop Problems -

Anything goes in The Snug, the GD's rebellious little brother. An off-topic den of iniquity for non-football/news related musings.

Moderators: bristolhammerfc, sicknote, -DL-, Rio, Gnome, chalks, the pink palermo

Laptop Problems -

Postby The Old Man of Storr on Tue Sep 25, 2018 7:11 pm

I was on my old Lenovo T410 the other week when the screen went black - I removed the battery and when I switched it on I got the error message - oxc000000e - it said Windows couldn't connect and that I had to insert a Windows 7 disc or get in touch with Lenovo or Microsoft [ oh yeah , as if they're going to help me ] .

Anyway I fiddled about with it and must have done something right as after 5 hours of restoring whatever it was restoring it powered up once more .

Two weeks later [ last Saturday ] the same thing happened more or less - the screen froze halfway through downloading a youtube video - took the battery out thinking it might help but got the same error message -
oxc000000e - I tried everthing I could think of doing this time to no avail - I watched every youtube video but nothing they suggested worked , I took out the hard drive and put it back securely blah blah blah - I guess I'm either going to have to send it away somewhere or buy a Windows 7 repair cd .

Has this ever happened to anyone else , could it be a virus or is my old machine on its last legs , I've had it for 4 years now , only paid £276 for it and I've used it every day for around 14 hours per day , it owes me nothing but if I can get it working once more it'd be great .
User avatar
The Old Man of Storr
 
Posts: 16179
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:17 pm
Location: Lost In the Recesses Of My Mind .

Re: Laptop Problems -

Postby mushy on Tue Sep 25, 2018 7:14 pm

Sounds like either you have been watching too much porn again,or its a hardware error.
mushy
 
Posts: 12820
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 4:17 pm
Location: Kumb Poster of the year 2009

Re: Laptop Problems -

Postby Cuenca 'ammer on Tue Sep 25, 2018 8:02 pm

reckon the hard drive has gone mate..

won't connect with and operate the OS......

happened to me several times.....if you only paid a few quid for it relatively speaking...new install and hard drive will probably be as much (relatively speaking) as an investment in a new one...
User avatar
Cuenca 'ammer
ex 'ouston 'ammer
 
Posts: 27251
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 5:19 pm
Location: Journey to the dead of night. High on a hill in Eldorado

Re: Laptop Problems -

Postby The Old Man of Storr on Tue Sep 25, 2018 8:33 pm

Not 100% sure but a replacement GB for GB would probably cost me less than £200 - it's an i5 , 8GB Ram and 1TB HD - I've got all the photographs except the ones I recently scanned into it copied onto an external hard drive so I'm not going to lose anything of sentimental value .

Would be good to get it going once more though if it's just a case of running one of those Windows 7 repair cds you see for sale on Ebay - or are they just a load of hooey ?

Did you get this error message come up then , Oss - the oxc000000e ?

As I said I did get it going the first time it happened , took me 5 hours right enough , trouble is I don't really know what I did !!! :lol:

I pressed F12 , I know that , and I think the Lenovo restore thingy came up and did a bit of restoring which took a total of 5 hours - I tried the same thing again , pressing the Think Vantage button and then F12 when nothing happened - I fiddled about with the BIOS not really knowing what I was doing - I took out the hard drive and replaced it - a chap on Yotube suggests downloading something from a site onto a cd then running it on the damaged computer , there's a charge however and it might just be a scam [ maybe not of course ] .
User avatar
The Old Man of Storr
 
Posts: 16179
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:17 pm
Location: Lost In the Recesses Of My Mind .

Re: Laptop Problems -

Postby warp on Tue Sep 25, 2018 8:48 pm

i take it you already tried the standard KUMB first approach to computer issues, right?
User avatar
warp
 
Posts: 13104
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 11:13 am
Location: I am everything about this site which is wrong... i don't give a toss about WHUFC.

Re: Laptop Problems -

Postby Cuenca 'ammer on Tue Sep 25, 2018 9:20 pm

OMoS

well if you CAN replace your hard drive, no problem..

when the shop replaced mine I got them to give me the old hard drive back..it hasn't actually broken per se, it just no longer works with the OS.

buy a "hard case" - it comes with a USB cable and viola, you have an external hard drive that still works..mine was 20 dlrs in Ecuador where to be honest they are a bit expensive..I don't know how though, you install another OS as the ones that you get with the laptop are just a "minimal" system...think they loaded mine as a part of the repair deal.

also your documents will still be on it and you can drag and drop them into the new system. plus it into your laptop via the USB and you will see them there...

if in doubt, D-L is your man, drop him a PM and ask him as this is only my experience and I am not an IT guy.

I just didn't want to pissabout with a laptop. desk top ? no problem they are all plug and play.

hope this helps......
User avatar
Cuenca 'ammer
ex 'ouston 'ammer
 
Posts: 27251
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 5:19 pm
Location: Journey to the dead of night. High on a hill in Eldorado

Re: Laptop Problems -

Postby Johnny Byrne's Boots on Tue Sep 25, 2018 9:37 pm

Next time you get it working, run the disk check utility here. It'll take a while to do its business so have a good supply of tea and biscuits to hand, and read all the way through the instructions first, before you run it.

As for running a 'repair disc' bought from the internet, I'd give it a wide berth.
User avatar
Johnny Byrne's Boots
 
Posts: 18670
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: Towering in shiny metallic purple armour

Re: Laptop Problems -

Postby Cuenca 'ammer on Tue Sep 25, 2018 9:42 pm

JBB

did that so many times on my one, but it never worked..have to try to get it to boot on SAFE but as it never recognised the OS it wouldn't even get there in the end.....

tea and biscuits were great though...Taylor's Yorkshire Tea

:thup: :thup:
User avatar
Cuenca 'ammer
ex 'ouston 'ammer
 
Posts: 27251
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 5:19 pm
Location: Journey to the dead of night. High on a hill in Eldorado

Re: Laptop Problems -

Postby The Old Man of Storr on Tue Sep 25, 2018 10:36 pm

Johnny Byrne's Boots wrote:Next time you get it working, run the disk check utility here. It'll take a while to do its business so have a good supply of tea and biscuits to hand, and read all the way through the instructions first, before you run it.

As for running a 'repair disc' bought from the internet, I'd give it a wide berth.


I'll bear that in mind , Johnny if and when I ever get it back running , as Cuenca has already put it , it's not booting up at all it's just going round and round in circles - but there has to be a solution as I got it up and running two or three weeks ago when this exact same error message came up - I just don't know how I managed to fix it though , well I do , but after trying the same thing it didn't boot up this second time .

Cuenca - did you get your original hard drive files extracted and put on to a new hard drive ? Is that what you're saying ? I know it can be done , but I wouldn't know where to start .
User avatar
The Old Man of Storr
 
Posts: 16179
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:17 pm
Location: Lost In the Recesses Of My Mind .

Re: Laptop Problems -

Postby The Old Man of Storr on Tue Sep 25, 2018 10:42 pm

warp wrote:i take it you already tried the standard KUMB first approach to computer issues, right?


Of course , I'm not stupid - however my manhood slipped off the tweezers that I was so desperately trying to wipe it with across my screen and retreated back into my pants .

I am of course lying - I don't wear any pants you see .

I am pantless and I am also without my treasured T410 .
User avatar
The Old Man of Storr
 
Posts: 16179
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:17 pm
Location: Lost In the Recesses Of My Mind .

Re: Laptop Problems -

Postby Samba on Tue Sep 25, 2018 10:50 pm

The Old Man of Storr wrote:I was on my old Lenovo T410 the other week when the screen went black

Ah, the old black screen of death.
If it was the blue screen of death, I could have helped you.
User avatar
Samba
 
Posts: 3567
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2017 3:36 pm
Location: Wondering when Karren Brady's going to fuck something else up.

Re: Laptop Problems -

Postby Cuenca 'ammer on Wed Sep 26, 2018 12:12 am

If your'e going to a shop they can do it for you.

If you are doing it yourself (not recommended) you can just plug the external into the laptop USB, open the drive like you would normally and you should see the fields that you have right there like any other folders.

As I said though, the problem is with the operating system. I think that it's best if you can afford it to go to a shop and get them to switch it out. They will load the Windows OS but of course any programmes that you had loaded onto the machine will have to be loaded again. Things like Microsoft word etc. etc. but hopefully you have them on a CD or *ahem* downloaded to your other hard drive from alternative sources.

The other reason that I asked the shop for my hard drive back was, I thought it made sure that they put a new one in and didn't find some fix for the other one !!! Distrustful b*stard that I am.

:)

but it was a 1TB so that's another 1TB of external memory that I now have. Works like a charm as an external hard drive but wouldn't work with my OS so wasn't any good in the laptop.

If I think you said it was a 5TB then that's 5TB of external hard drive that you don't have to buy that the shop would use themselves. Case slips onto the old drive, USB plugs into the laptop as usual so it's a win/win.

I said though, if in doubt, maybe drop DL a PM he's a whiz and he doesn't mind helping. If he has the time.

Plus too putting it in the shop it should come with some type of warranty so if it goes out again take it back and get it fixed. I know you are in Elgin so maybe a chain that you could go to in Skye if it goes on the blink again.

I am not an IT chap by any stretch but that's the way I did it. All fixed, OS Windows 10 loaded (you'll have to update probably yourself which is a royal pain) external hard drive added for "free" and Robert is your Auntie's husband....

:)
User avatar
Cuenca 'ammer
ex 'ouston 'ammer
 
Posts: 27251
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 5:19 pm
Location: Journey to the dead of night. High on a hill in Eldorado

Re: Laptop Problems -

Postby DasNutNock on Wed Sep 26, 2018 12:26 am

Putting a new HDD in it is easy enough. Just a few screws to remove then it should pop out. YouTube will show you how, possibly for the model you have.

Installing w10 should be an option with those specs. Put in the CD and follow the instructions. A bit of next, next, next really. Will take a couple hours start to finish, but is straightforward enough. You could also try LINUX, which is also quite simple and installs off a USB stick. You can run it directly off the stick first to see if you can get on with it before installing, so if you don’t like it, install windows.

Shout if you get stuck.
User avatar
DasNutNock
 
Posts: 9661
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 4:41 pm
Location: R Tape loading error, 0:1

Re: Laptop Problems -

Postby westham,eggyandchips on Wed Sep 26, 2018 7:27 am

The Old Man of Storr wrote:I was on my old Lenovo T410 the other week when the screen went black



Has this ever happened to anyone else ?

Yep. To my PC and laptop. On both occasions they were doing a big update, so just left it until it was complete.
User avatar
westham,eggyandchips
 
Posts: 13543
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:06 pm
Location: Taking a walk with Anita Fifa...

Re: Laptop Problems -

Postby fmgod on Wed Sep 26, 2018 9:15 am

Buy an SSD, that will fly, about £50 for a reasonable size one, less or more if you want more storage
Install SSD, install Windows 10 to it, you can download the ISO off Microsoft website
Take the data off the HDD, whack whatever is important on to the cloud or put it in a HDD caddy

Do it all yourself, be a few screws, 20 minutes to change the disk drive, 1 hour for Windows 10 to install wallop, £50 and you will have a blistering laptop
fmgod
 
Posts: 14152
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 12:54 pm

Re: Laptop Problems -

Postby ereford ammer on Wed Sep 26, 2018 9:34 am

I replaced the hard drive on my old laptop with a SSHD and it is brilliant
User avatar
ereford ammer
 
Posts: 1931
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 8:21 pm
Location: At the next level with all the malcontents

Re: Laptop Problems -

Postby Briggsy on Wed Sep 26, 2018 9:44 am

As others have said. Wack an SSD in it. (replacement for the hard drive). It won't cost too much & they are brilliant performance wise.
User avatar
Briggsy
 
Posts: 520
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 7:24 pm

Re: Laptop Problems -

Postby The Old Man of Storr on Wed Sep 26, 2018 10:55 am

It's a thought , lads , thank you for all your suggestions .

I have a genuine copy of Windows 10 Pro that came with my other laptop , best thing to do would be to buy a 256GB SSD - the problem being is I'm pretty sure I read on a Lenovo Forum that my old T410 with the specs it has on it isn't compatible with W10 so I may just bugger it all up by installing it .

I'll see what I can do - Oss - don't really want to bother DL , he's got a new life now with his new lady friend , the last thing he wants will be people bothering him with yet another laptop problem , I was just putting out this error message that came up and seeing as I managed to bumble my way into fixing it myself a fortnight or so ago I thought it could be an easy fix for some of you more talented lads on here .

I'm in no particular hurry as I've got my big machine here [ just got nowhere to sit it on at the moment :) ] and I have Jen's little Chromebook - I may even go down that route , they're as cheap as chips - it's just that I've grown rather fond of my old Lenovo - it's been dropped countless times or I've caught my foot on the cable when getting up and dragged it off the table onto to the floor and it just kept on going , wonderful tough little machines , I'd recommend them to anyone - bit dated for some but if you're not fussy likeme they're a great investment .
User avatar
The Old Man of Storr
 
Posts: 16179
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:17 pm
Location: Lost In the Recesses Of My Mind .

Re: Laptop Problems -

Postby uptonparkhurst on Wed Sep 26, 2018 2:07 pm

When you say the error message was "windows cannot connect" was there no other info?

Could it be that a Microsoft update borked your system, you did a recovery, then another
(or maybe the same) update came through and borked it again?

Imho you need to determine whether the problem is the O/S (maybe in conjunction with how it interacts
with your laptop e.g. drivers) or the hard drive.
Try JBB's hard drive utility, which I guess will check for bad sectors and, optionally, try to bypass them
as well as perform a "health check". If the disk is OK - 7 is only supported until 14/01/2020 so it makes sense to me to jump ship, especially if there's the possibility of a recurring problem.

(Disclaimer: I'm a cheapskate Linux user, so wtf do I know? :P)
User avatar
uptonparkhurst
 
Posts: 3414
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 11:01 pm
Location: On the ground floor, thinking that the "next level" could be the basement

Re: Laptop Problems -

Postby The Old Man of Storr on Wed Sep 26, 2018 10:57 pm

uptonparkhurst wrote:When you say the error message was "windows cannot connect" was there no other info?

Could it be that a Microsoft update borked your system, you did a recovery, then another
(or maybe the same) update came through and borked it again?

Imho you need to determine whether the problem is the O/S (maybe in conjunction with how it interacts
with your laptop e.g. drivers) or the hard drive.
Try JBB's hard drive utility, which I guess will check for bad sectors and, optionally, try to bypass them
as well as perform a "health check". If the disk is OK - 7 is only supported until 14/01/2020 so it makes sense to me to jump ship, especially if there's the possibility of a recurring problem.

(Disclaimer: I'm a cheapskate Linux user, so wtf do I know? :P)


Hi -
No , I was downloading a youtube video when it happened - the screen just froze - the cursor was moving but the screen froze and nothing responded if I clicked on it - perhaps I should have just left it alone in hindsight but I took out the battery and restarted it only to see the error message ' oxc000000e ' - it states that Windows failed to connect ....insert Windows 7 disc [ which did not come with machine ] or contact Microsoft or Lenovo .

I have a genuine W10 disc but I'm 99.9% sure my old T410 is not compatible with W10 .

I may give it a go as I've not much to lose .
User avatar
The Old Man of Storr
 
Posts: 16179
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:17 pm
Location: Lost In the Recesses Of My Mind .

Next

Return to The Snug

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Lt. Discussion, r99c and 11 guests