self-employment question

Anything goes in The Snug, the GD's rebellious little brother. An off-topic den of iniquity for non-football/news related musings.

Moderators: bristolhammerfc, sicknote, -DL-, Rio, Gnome, chalks, the pink palermo

self-employment question

Postby DasNutNock on Tue Oct 02, 2018 11:46 am

I've got a mate that's a chippy by trade, and he's (as far as I can tell) employed by a small business owner as part of a team that is moved from project to project as & when required. He, along with the rest of them, appear to believe they are self-employed, despite the business owner paying them their wages, and retaining 20% of it (presumably this forms part of their annual tax return). They don't get sick pay, and they don't seem to know if he's paying NI for them - and they most definitely don't get a company pension. I'm not sure they even have a contract with the owner.

Does that sound right? The consensus seems to be that this is the norm for their line of work, but it sounds to me rather like they're being a bit shafted here, at least as far as NI & pensions are concerned. I thought everyone that was an effective employee was meant to be offered a pension, for example. Seems to me that he's circumvented employment laws by making them pretend to be self-employed.
DasNutNock

Re: self-employment question

Postby DasNutNock on Tue Oct 02, 2018 11:57 am

OK, a bit more reading suggests they may constitute CIS Subcontractors - any idea if they get holiday pay & pension contribs?
DasNutNock

Postby sendô on Tue Oct 02, 2018 12:02 pm

Sounds like he's shafting them. If they're self employed, then he shouldn't be keeping 20% of their wage to pay their tax - they should be putting that aside themselves and consulting an accountant.

I reckon he's trousering that 20% himself, and they're all running the risk of getting picked up by HMRC.
sendô

Postby somerset-hammer on Tue Oct 02, 2018 12:03 pm