|Does exactly what it says on the tin - the forum for football-related discussion.
I am at work and we are trying to find out something......
the scenario: penalty shootout in the Italy vs England Euro 2012 quarter final. An england palyer steps up take his penalty, and then hits it, Buffon dives low down to his left, but doesn't get a full hand on it, the ball kicks up and starts spinning towards the goal (without losing foward momentum).
Buffon then gets up and saves the ball again before it crosses the line
Is this allowed?????
i know for a normal penalty, usually another player would come rushing in, or defender to clear it, also if it hits the post then keeper and goes in it still counts, but is this all the same for a penalty shootout?
According to FIFA rules.
If it's England: It's not allowed, if the opposition took the penalty then the penalty should be retaken until scored.
Anyone else: It's allowed.
Hope this helps mate
from wiki, so it's true:
"A kick is successful if, having been touched once by the kicker, it crosses the goal line without going out of play or touching any player other than the defending goalkeeper. The ball may touch the goalkeeper, posts, or crossbar any number of times before going into the net. This was clarified after an incident in the 1986 World Cup shoot-out between Brazil and France. Bruno Bellone's kick rebounded out off the post, hit goalkeeper Carlos's back, and subsequently bounced into the goal. Referee Ioan Igna gave the goal to France, and Brazil captain Edinho was booked for protesting that the kick should have been considered a miss as soon as it rebounded off the post. In 1987, the IFAB clarified Law 14, covering penalty kicks, to support Igna's decision."
i saw this as well, but it doesnt strictly cover the scenario, this is the ball hitting the goalie, posts etc, but as someone else said can the goalkeeper touch/save the ball twice to stop the penalty (in a shootout)
It says "Any number of times" which includes twice, thrice and more.....
Goalie can always touch the ball as many times as he wants.
There was also a case in South America earlier this year where a keeper saved a pen (in a shootout) which then span back into the goal while he was celebrating. The goal stood.
It all depends on if that blind goal line ref from yesterday is officiating, it could roll into the net and trickle out again and he wouldnt give a goal
The keeper can save it twice. It's technically only saving it once. If he gets a touch to it and it's still going in, then he's not saved the shot anyway, so he can continue to try and make the save.
If this weren't the case, you'd see problems with pens all the time, like if the keeper's blocked underneath him and the ball's bouncing around under his body. The other team could argue that he's touched the ball, or saved the shot more than once.
I understand what the difference is, just never why. Why does one have rebounds allowed and the other not?
Neither scenarios are allowed rebounds off the woodwork by the penalty taker.
In normal play, if the penalty taker hits the post and the ball returns to him, he cannot touch it until another player does.
In a shoot-out, if the ball hits the post and bounces away from goal, the kick is 'dead'.
The scenarios are different. A missed penalty in normal time results in a continuation of play. On a penalty shoot out, if you allowed a continuation, the kicker could dribble the ball about for as long as he wanted. It would get stupid.
Because they are not "penalties" per se which result in a free kick at goal. It is a shoot-out to define a winner of a drawn game.