Text  Larger | Smaller | Default


Premier League
Wednesday, 10th November 2010

West Ham United 2
West Bromwich Albion 2

by Staff Writer

West Ham threw away a priceless lead for the second time in a week as they failed to beat newly-promoted West Brom at the Boleyn tonight.

Having seen a two-goal advantage wiped out at Birmingham on Saturday it was a case of deja vu for Avram Grant's under-pressure Hammers as they had to settle for a second consecutive 2-2 draw despite having led 2-1.

Against the run of play, West Brom had taken the lead from the penalty spot through Peter Odemwingie seven minutes ahead of the half-time break when they were awarded a hotly-contested penalty by Mike Dean - no stranger to controversial decisions where West Ham are concerned - who was the only person in the stadium to see an infringement by Luis Boa Morte.

However the visitors' lead lasted just five minutes as United vice-captain Scott Parker - who had another storming game in the centre of midfield - registered a contender for goal of the season when he lashed home a fierce 25-yard volley into the top right-hand corner of Albion 'keeper Scott Carson's goal.

Level at the break, it was West Ham who came out of the blocks fastest in the second period and just five minutes in they took the lead. Kieron Dyer, a constant threat to the Baggies all night burst into the penalty area and was shoved to the floor by Gabriel Tamas. Penalty duly awarded, Frederic Piquionne stepped up and sent Carson the wrong way to put the Hammers 2-1 ahead.

Determined not to see a repeat of St Andrews, West Ham pushed on in search of a decisive third and went close on several occasions as they continued to ask questions of Albion's defence. However it was the visitors who grabbed the next - and last - goal of the game when an unmarked Pablo Ibanez nodded home a Chris Brunt centre. Yet again the Hammers had failed to clear their lines from a corner and were duly punished.

The solitary point leaves West Ham bottom of the Premier League and four points from 17th place. Next up for Grant and his squad are another newly-promoted team - Blackpool - in a game that the Hammers simply must win in order to avoid going into the busy Christmas period adrift at the foot of the table.

* Want to submit your match reports to KUMB.com? More details here ...

 Click here to view all West Ham United vs West Bromwich Albion match reports
 Click here to view all match reports by Staff Writer

Player Ratings

Robert Green
Comments to follow.

Lars Jacobsen
Comments to follow.

Herita Ilunga
Comments to follow.

Danny Gabbidon
Comments to follow.

Matthew Upson
Comments to follow.

Scott Parker
Comments to follow.

Pablo Barrera
Comments to follow.

Luis Boa Morte
Comments to follow.

Kieron Dyer
Comments to follow.

Carlton Cole
Comments to follow.

Frederic Piquionne
Comments to follow.


Radoslav Kovac
(Replaced Boa Morte, 54 mins) Comments to follow.

Victor Obinna
(Replaced Cole, 76 mins) Comments to follow.

Benni McCarthy
(Replaced Barrera, 88 mins) Comments to follow.

Marek Stech
Did not play.

Jonathan Spector
Did not play.

Winston Reid
Did not play.

James Tomkins
Did not play.

Match Facts

Referee: Mike Dean.

Attendance: 33,023.

Man of the Match: Scott Parker.

West Ham United

Robert Green, Lars Jacobsen, Herita Ilunga, Danny Gabbidon, Matthew Upson, Scott Parker, Pablo Barrera, Luis Boa Morte, Kieron Dyer, Carlton Cole, Frederic Piquionne.

Goals: Scott Parker 43 Frederic Piquionne 50                .

Booked: Luis Boa Morte 37 Radoslav Kovac 73 Danny Gabbidon 87      .

Sent off: None.

West Bromwich Albion

Carson, Cech, Ibanez, Tamas, Reid, Scharner, Brunt, Thomas, Dorrans, Morrison, Odemwingie.

Substitutes: Cox (Dorrans 67), Barnes (Thomas 75), Fortune (Odemwingie 88).

Subs not used: Myhill, Tchoyi, Shorey, Zuiverloon.

Goals: Odemwingie (pen 38), Ibanez (71).

Booked: None.

Sent Off: None.

Staff Writer's Man of the Match: Scott Parker

Latest Match Reports

ball Watford (a) 4-1
by Chris Wilkerson
ball Southampton (h) 3-0
by Chris Wilkerson
ball Tottenham Hotspur (a) 1-0
by Chris Wilkerson
ball Leicester City (h) 2-2
by Chris Wilkerson
ball Manchester United (a) 1-2
by Chris Wilkerson
ball Chelsea (a) 0-2
by Chris Wilkerson
ball Everton (h) 0-2
by Chris Wilkerson
ball Huddersfield Town (h) 4-3
by Chris Wilkerson
ball Cardiff City (a) 0-2
by Chris WIlkerson
ball Cardiff City (a) 0-2
by Alice Loveridge