Text  Larger | Smaller | Default


Cresswell named Hammer of the Year

Filed: Thursday, 7th May 2015
By: Staff Writer

Left-back Aaron Cresswell capped an impressive first season at the Boleyn Ground by being crowned Hammer of the Year at tonight's awards ceremony.

25-year-old Cresswell also collected the Signing of the Season and Players’ Player of the Year awards, to cap a memorable night for the former Ipswich and Tranmere player - a £4million signing last summer.

Speaking to whufc.com, Cresswell said: "It’s a privilege to win these awards. To come here and collect these awards was a fantastic honour.

"This year has gone very well for me personally and for the team. Sam is a very similar sort of manager to Mick McCarthy, who I worked with at Ipswich and he has been fantastic with me this season, so I can’t thank him enough."

In the remaining categories, Enner Valencia won the Goal of the Season award, Diafra Sakho the Top Scorer award and not particularly surprisingly, Adrian the Save of the Season award.

Elsewhere Reece Burke - now with two Premier League games under his belt - is the new Young Hammer of the Year, whilst fellow Academy graduate Reece Oxford collected the Dylan Tombides Award.

Meanwhile Cheik Kouyate's effort against Manchester United in February was voted Best Individual Performance and the 2-1 win against Manchester City last October the Best Team Performance.

This year the club's Lifetime Achievement Award was reserved for Martin Peters, one of the triumvirate of Hammers that emerged from under the protective wing of Ron Greenwood to become FA Cup, Cup Winners Cup and World Cup winners with the space of three years.

Hammer of the Year: Previous Winners

1958 Andy Malcolm
1959 Ken Brown
1960 Malcolm Musgrove
1961 Bobby Moore
1962 Lawrie Leslie
1963 Bobby Moore
1964 Johnny Byrne
1965 Martin Peters
1966 Geoff Hurst
1967 Geoff Hurst
1968 Bobby Moore
1969 Geoff Hurst
1970 Bobby Moore
1971 Billy Bonds
1972 Trevor Brooking
1973 Pop Robson
1974 Billy Bonds
1975 Billy Bonds
1976 Trevor Brooking
1977 Trevor Brooking
1978 Trevor Brooking
1979 Alan Devonshire
1980 Alvin Martin
1981 Phil Parkes
1982 Alvin Martin
1983 Alvin Martin
1984 Trevor Brooking
1985 Paul Allen
1986 Tony Cottee
1987 Billy Bonds
1988 Stewart Robson
1989 Paul Ince
1990 Julian Dicks
1991 Luděk Mikloško
1992 Julian Dicks
1993 Steve Potts
1994 Trevor Morley
1995 Steve Potts
1996 Julian Dicks
1997 Julian Dicks
1998 Rio Ferdinand
1999 Shaka Hislop
2000 Paolo Di Canio
2001 Stuart Pearce
2002 Sébastien Schemmel
2003 Joe Cole
2004 Matthew Etherington
2005 Teddy Sheringham
2006 Danny Gabbidon
2007 Carlos Tevez
2008 Robert Green
2009 Scott Parker
2010 Scott Parker
2011 Scott Parker
2012 Mark Noble
2013 Winston Reid
2014 Mark Noble
2015 Aaron Cresswell

Related News

   arrow   Eyes on Ozan? [11th Jun 2019]
   arrow   Abanda interesting West Ham and other stories [4th Jun 2019]
   arrow   KUMB Awards XXII: polls now open [22nd May 2019]
   arrow   In brief - Friday's news round-up [17th May 2019]
   arrow   Hasenhuttl set to ring the changes [3rd May 2019]
   arrow   Pellegrini welcomes back trio for Saints test [2nd May 2019]
   arrow   Snodgrass leading the way [24th Apr 2019]
   arrow   In brief - Friday's news round-up [12th Apr 2019]
   arrow   We could've lost by six, admits Rice [1st Apr 2019]
   arrow   In brief - Monday's news round-up [1st Apr 2019]

Your Comments

Please note that this section is for comments relating to the above news item only. Any off-topic or abusive posts will be removed. Posts including either links and/or foul language are automatically filtered and will not be published. To engage in further discussion on any of our news stories, visit the KUMB Forums.

Not a member of the KUMB Forums? You may register for free membership here.

comments powered by Disqus
News Image

On This Day ...

One Year Ago
Pellegrini looking to youth
Manuel Pellegrini has revealed that he is hoping to bring more players thro...more
Three Years Ago
West Ham linked with Euro 16 star
West Ham are being linked with a move for Romania's Euro 16 star Gabriel Torje....more
Five Years Ago
Cheikhou Kouyate completes West Ham move
West Ham have completed the €9million signing of Anderlecht defender Cheikhou Kouyate....more