Text  Larger | Smaller | Default


Moore leading Sports Personality poll

Filed: Tuesday, 6th November 2018
By: Staff Writer

West Ham United legend Bobby Moore is currently leading a poll to determine the BBC's Greatest Sports Personality.

In 2018 the broadcasting corporation celebrates 65 years of the Sports Personality of the Year award, which was first won in 1954 by Chris Chataway.

And in order to mark the occasion, the Radio Times are conducting a poll to find the greatest Sports Personality of them all.

Embed from Getty Images

Currently leading the pack is the 1966 winner, West Ham's very own Bobby Moore - who was nominated on the back of England's World Cup success.

And you may help increase Moore's lead by adding your vote at www.radiotimes.com/news/tv/2018-11-05/sports-personality-of-the-year-greatest-winner/.

Sports Personality of the Year: previous winners

1954 Sir Chris Chataway
1955 Gordon Pirie
1956 Jim Laker
1957 Dai Rees
1958 Ian Black
1959 John Surtees

1960 David Broome
1961 Sir Stirling Moss
1962 Anita Lonsbrough
1963 Dorothy Hyman
1964 Mary Rand
1965 Tommy Simpson
1966 Bobby Moore
1967 Sir Henry Cooper
1968 David Hemery
1969 Ann Jones

1970 Sir Henry Cooper
1971 HRH Princess Anne
1972 Dame Mary Peters
1973 Sir Jackie Stewart
1974 Brendan Foster
1975 David Steele
1976 John Curry
1977 Virginia Wade
1978 Steve Ovett
1979 Lord Sebastian Coe

1980 Robin Cousins
1981 Sir Ian Botham
1982 Daley Thompson
1983 Steve Cram
1984 Torvill and Dean
1985 Barry McGuigan
1986 Nigel Mansell
1987 Fatima Whitbread
1988 Steve Davis
1989 Sir Nick Faldo

Embed from Getty Images

1990 Paul Gascoigne
1991 Liz McColgan
1992 Nigel Mansell
1993 Linford Christie
1994 Damon Hill
1995 Jonathan Edwards
1996 Damon Hill
1997 Greg Rusedski
1998 Michael Owen
1999 Lennox Lewis

2000 Sir Steve Redgrave
2001 David Beckham
2002 Paula Radcliffe
2003 Jonny Wilkinson
2004 Dame Kelly Holmes
2005 Andrew Flintoff
2006 Zara Phillips
2007 Joe Calzaghe
2008 Sir Chris Hoy
2009 Ryan Giggs

2010 AP McCoy
2011 Mark Cavendish
2012 Sir Bradley Wiggins
2013 Andy Murray
2014 Lewis Hamilton
2015 Andy Murray
2016 Andy Murray
2017 Mo Farah

Related News

   arrow   Chadwell Heath: 50 years in pictures [2nd Apr 2019]
   arrow   Hammers on song [1st Apr 2019]
   arrow   The greatest goalkeeper West Ham never had [12th Feb 2019]
   arrow   In brief - Thursday's news round-up [7th Feb 2019]
   arrow   Oh, Billy Billy [6th Feb 2019]
   arrow   AFC Wimbledon 4-2 West Ham Utd [26th Jan 2019]
   arrow   In brief - Friday's news round-up [11th Jan 2019]
   arrow   In brief - Friday's news round-up [4th Jan 2019]
   arrow   Bobby Moore named Greatest Sports Personality of all time [27th Nov 2018]
   arrow   Moore leading Sports Personality poll [6th Nov 2018]

Your Comments

Please note that this section is for comments relating to the above news item only. Any off-topic or abusive posts will be removed. Posts including either links and/or foul language are automatically filtered and will not be published. To engage in further discussion on any of our news stories, visit the KUMB Forums.

Not a member of the KUMB Forums? You may register for free membership here.

comments powered by Disqus
News Image

On This Day ...

One Year Ago
Moyes admits "I have a decision to make"
David Moyes say that he is yet to decide who will keep goal for the Hammers...more
Three Years Ago
West Ham aiming to top club record
West Ham United will set a new club record tonight - if they manage to avoid defeat against Quique S...more
Five Years Ago
Allardyce on... Crystal Palace
Disappointed but not disillusioned, Big Sam admitted that his mind had been elsewhere before today's...more