20 years of KUMB: the best of the best

  • by Staff Writer
  • Wednesday, 7th June 2017

When Manuel Lanzini was named as KUMB's 2016/17 Player of the Year this week, he became the 18th Hammer to land the crown.

For the last 20 years, readers of Knees up Mother Brown have been voting annually to determine their Player of the Year (and several other categories too) in our annual awards.

Seven midfielders, six defenders, four forwards and one goalkeeper have been bestowed with the Player of the Year award since KUMB first went online in 1997.

From these 18 players*, we have selected our Best XI and substitutes - plus the team manager! - which you may see below.

We've based our selection on a classic 4-4-2 shape - do you agree with our choice? Or disagree? Let us know in the comments section below or via the KUMB Forum!

*Scott Parker is the only player to win our award more than once - he was named KUMB Player of the Year in 2008/09, 2009/10 and 2010/11.

Click on the image above to see a larger version

Best XI Candidates

Goalkeepers: Robert Green.

Defenders: Stuart Pearce; Sebastian Schemmel; Danny Gabbidon; James Tomkins; Winston Reid; Aaron Cresswell.

Midfielders: Steve Lomas; Joe Cole; Matthew Etherington; Scott Parker; Mark Noble; Dimitri Payet; Manuel Lanzini.

Forwards: John Hartson; Paolo Di Canio; Teddy Sheringham; Carlos Tevez.

Managers: Harry Redknapp; Glenn Roeder; Alan Pardew; Alan Curbishley; Franco Zola; Avram Grant; Sam Allardyce; Slaven Bilic.

* Something to say about this story? Please visit the KUMB Forum to leave a comment.

Related News